History of the Games

The idea of uniting children who have overcome oncological illnesses through sports and physical activities is rooted back in time, several years ago. In 2007, the first International Onco-Olympiad took place in Warsaw, the capital of Poland. About 200 children competed in the Olympiad having arrived from Ukraine, Belarus, Russia and Poland. Russia was represented by seven young athletes.

In 2010, it was Russia’s turn to host guests from various countries at the First World Children’s Winners Games, another sports event for childhood cancer survivors. The Games were held June 14 – 16 at the sports stadium Locomotive, in Moscow. The celebration of life and athleticism was organized by Gift of Life in partnership with the Football Club Locomotive. Russian capital welcomed 200 children, age 7 – 16, from Ukraine, Belarus, Poland, Armenia, Latvia, Romania and Hungary. The opening ceremony was symbolically chosen to start on June 14, the international day of Blood Donors. And rightfully so: a victory over cancer is not possible without the selfless gift of blood from donors.

In the last six years, the Winners Games hosted over 1655 children from all over the vast territory of Russian Federation – from Kaliningrad to Irkutsk – and 16 countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Palestine, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine.

ОБ ИСТОРИИ И ЗАДАЧЕ ИГР

Идея объединения детей, перенесших онкологические заболевания, при помощи спорта и физической активности возникла несколько лет назад. В 2007 году в столице Польши Варшаве прошла Первая Международная Онкоолимпиада, в которой приняли участие около 200 детей из Польши, Украины, Белоруссии и России. Нашу страну представляли семь юных спортсменов.

В 2010 году наступила очередь России принимать гостей из разных стран на Первые Всемирные детские игры победителей – соревнования среди детей, перенесших онкозаболевания. Они прошли 14-16 июня 2010 года в Москве на стадионе «Локомотив». Спортивный праздник организовали благотворительный фонд «Подари жизнь» и футбольный клуб «Локомотив». В столицу приехали 200 детей в возрасте от 7 до 16 лет из России, Украины, Белоруссии, Польши, Армении, Латвии, Румынии, Венгрии. Открытие Игр победителей состоялось 14 июня 2010 года – во Всемирный день донора крови. И это не случайно, ведь победа над болезнью невозможна без помощи доноров в самом широком смысле этого слова.

За прошедшие шесть лет в Играх победителей приняли участие 1 655 детей из 16 стран мира, в том числе команды изо всех регионов России – от Калининграда до Иркутска, а также из стран ближнего и дальнего зарубежья: Азербайджана, Армении, Белоруссии, Болгарии, Венгрии, Германии, Казахстана, Латвии, Палестины, Польши, Румынии, Сербии, Турции, Украины, Хорватии, Чехии.